Creator/Composer/Sound Designer – Danny Krass
Director – Finn den Hertog

The premier season of Earwig presents six new audio drama podcasts by Scottish based playwrights, commissioned especially to explore the possibilities of sonic theatre. Designed to be listened to on headphones, incorporating text, sound design and music, Earwig seeks to challenge, inspire, envelope and embrace its audience, inviting you deep into the inner world of its characters, placing you, the listener, at the centre of the drama.

Contributing writers: Jo Clifford – Slug Love; Hannah Lavery – There is still something yet to discover…(or Baba Yaga comes to you – when you are sleeping); Johnny McKnight – Tikka; Morna Pearson – The Last Dance; Stef Smith –The Deadlift and Luke Sutherland – Fortunes.

Episode 1 will premiere on Wednesday 27th January:
The Deadlift – Stef Smith
Two very different women meet in the weight room. One practiced and one novice, both find spiritual purchase in physical discipline.

Performed by Ashley Smith & Renee Williams
Drums/Percussion: Alon Ilsar
Original music by Danny Krass and Alon Ilsar 

Listen to the introduction to the Earwig podcast series here:

Close-up image of the inside of a human ear to link with the Earwig concept of taking the drama inside the individual listener's head.

Earwig is being delivered with support from the Scottish Government’s Performing Arts Venue Relief Fund administered by Creative Scotland.
Design: Niall Walker